Skip to content

My 2012 Book List

January 1, 2013

Screen Shot 2013-01-01 at 10.45.11 PM

Back in 2000, my friend Greg shared his “book list” with me–a list of  all the books he’d read that year and a few paragraphs about each. I’ve been doing the same ever since, though my “reviews” have gotten progressively wordier.

Here’s my 2012 Book List. 

Or here’s the short version (my favorites from 2012):

FICTION
All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren
Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino
A Hologram For the King by Dave Eggers
The Sooterkin by Tom Gilling

NON-FICTION
Travels With Charley by John Steinbeck
El Narco by Ioan Grillo
The Greatest Minds and Ideas of All Time by Will Durant
King of the World by David Remnick
The Big Payback by Dan Charnas
The Heart and the Fist by Eric Greitens
Empire of the Summer Moon by S.C. Gwynne

What were your favorite books from the past year?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Piaoyang (Beverly) permalink
    January 2, 2013 9:24 pm

    I really like your blog and the posts. Thank you for sharing. I learned about VCU Brandcenter from a girl I met on the plane last night and I searched about it when I got home. The portfolio program sounds interesting to me, and like you said, the most important part is the book itself. I’ve learned a lot from your posts and will continue following up.

Leave a Reply

